LAN Partner and Namesake, Frank H. Newnam, Jr., P.E., Inducted into the Texas Transportation Institute Hall of Honor

(HOUSTON – February 2010) Frank H. Newnam, Jr., P.E., a partner and namesake of Lockwood, Andrews & Newnam, Inc. (LAN), has been inducted posthumously into the 2010 Texas Transportation Institute Hall of Honor. Newnam, the 31st inductee, will be celebrated during LAN’s 75th anniversary festivities on March 16, 2010.

Newnam joins an elite list of Texas transportation leaders such as Francis Turner, a former federal highway administrator and referred to as the "Father of the Interstate Highway System", Dewitt Greer, state highway engineer, Herb Kelleher, Southwest Airlines co-founder, Bob Lanier, former chairman of Texas Highway Commission and mayor of Houston, Dolph Briscoe Jr. former governor of Texas, H.B. “Pat” Zachry, founder of H.B. Zachry Company, Raymond Stotzer Jr., former director of Texas Highway Department and Gordon Bethune, former president of Continental Airlines.

“This is a huge honor for both Mr. Newnam and the firm,” said LAN President Dennis Petersen. “He provided a strong foundation on which to build and left a lasting imprint on the Texas transportation systems with his unique leadership and vision. The fact that his contributions are being acknowledged during LAN’s 75th year is doubly gratifying.”

Newnam joined Lockwood & Andrews as a partner in 1946 after serving as the chief of engineering for the Galveston District Corps of Engineers and subsequently as the chief engineer in the China Theatre during World War II.  A civil engineering graduate of Texas A&M University, Newnam provided the varied expertise needed to expand the firm in diverse directions. Along with Mason Graves Lockwood and William McIntosh Andrews, co-founders of the firm, Newnam directed civil projects involving multiple fields of engineering. His contribution to transportation came in notable port projects such as master plans for the Ports of Houston and Galveston and highway projects such as the Gulf Freeway, Houston's first freeway. In 1956, the firm changed its name to Lockwood, Andrews & Newnam, Inc.

Newnam served LAN as a director from 1961 to 1974 and as president from 1969 to 1973. He also served as the president of a number of renowned national and state associations, including the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), the Texas Section of ASCE, and the Texas Society of Professional Engineers. He was named as Houston’s Engineer of the Year in 1965. Frank H. Newnam passed away in 1998 at the age of 88.

The Texas Transportation Hall of Honor, awarded by the Texas Transportation Institute, recognizes individuals whose exceptional leadership and vision helped create and sustain Texas’ transportation system. The Hall of Honor is located in the main conference room in Texas Transportation Institute's Gibb Gilchrist building in the Texas A&M University Research Park in College Station. The Hall is overseen by a five-member board comprised of senior transportation professionals with knowledge of the historical development of the transportation system in the state. Each individual inducted into the Hall of Honor is recognized by a plaque on permanent display.

  Previous Next